Q&A

Makeup, Sex & Clubs

This morning I read a blog post from Girl Defined. I decided to share it and answer their follow up questions.
http://www.girldefined.com/popular-lose-respect-girl

Are you enticed by the culture’s message to “flaunt what you’ve got”? If so, why?

Yes I am enticed. One day I was getting dressed for Sunday service. I had tried on a few different tops, changed my pants numerous times. There were clothes everywhere. I was late. AGAIN. I had finally came upon an outfit to which I said out loud “I look cute.” Then it hit me. I look cute for what? For church? To be seated for about an hour? I look cute to listen to the pastor preach a sermon? Why was the look I was going for “cute” or “attractive?” Why cant I leave my apartment until I look attractive?
Having a very large bust with a 4’11 frame is interesting to say the least. If I don’t look modest I look erotic. If I wore a turtle-neck I’d still feel exposed. As a teenager and younger adult, I did have guidelines on how much skin I allowed myself to bare. Now almost 30, I have commandments *no pun intended* I feel naked in a tank top, in shorts above the knee, in a swim suit. Being so clothed I have still had the eyes of men on me. While wearing denim capris and a polo shirt, a very macho male coworker’s eyes were all over my calves. He said “what do you call those?” Capris I answered back. He gave me googly eyes and a smile and said with authority, “YES. capris, I like those.” I consider that man a friend but with firm boundaries. He is definitely not at all a docile man born and raised in a different country, one that accepts hyper-masculinity. I just shook my head and realized I could wear layers and layers but I’m uniquely feminine. I do not welcome attention to my body and body parts anymore .I haven’t for a long time actually. I used to walk into a club or party and revel in the amount of eyes on me. I’d apply my lip gloss at the exact moment some lustful guy was in my line of sight. Being short, I had the advantage of the “looking up at you-bat my eyes-maybe you can see down my shirt” move. I thought I was a pro. A VIP of something. The attention fed my sultry ego. To walk into a room and automatically have all eyes on you feels a lot like power. Men reaching out to touch your hand or hip to get your attention as you walk by as if you don’t see them. That was a good feeling for a budding 20something girl. GIRL. Those *Johns* were never in it for the long haul. They wanted something seductive to make them feel like Men. The quickest way for a man to “feel like a man” is through sex. There were plenty of times it made me “feel like a woman.” To be wanted by a man, makes you feel like a woman. In a time where gender is seemingly negotiable, there’s something to be noted here. This powerful exchange between a man and woman (even if strangers or acquaintances) barely touches the surface of the Missing Part of our relationship with one another. If “flaunting” IT, got me closer to that powerful feeling,I did it.

In what ways are you tempted to “allure” guys with your beauty?
I’d like to say that I’m not tempted to allure a guy. I am tempted. Every once in a while I recall those times I mentioned above. In recent years I thought I still wanted that. But it’s not the same. The essence of that person is gone. She moved out and I haven’t seen her since. She took her pompous attitude with her too. I see magazines, online articles, internet memes that are straight to the point. With big long lashes, plump lips, long shaved legs, voluminous hair, and every list of so called “tips” to getting him to notice you. I’m tired of following lists. If he didn’t see me and walk up to me, speak words to my face, then I truly don’t care. I still require that my eye lash game be on point though. Guys remember eyes. Or so I read on the internet somewhere.

12866c0cff2db1bb207f0e3af11a0c47

Do you view modesty as a tool that places value on your most intimate parts?
I do view that modesty places value on my most intimate parts. When your body is exposed people feel comfortable to make comments regarding your body. Two years ago, a friend posted a picture of us from an event we attended. A “facebook friend” messaged me a very bold statement regarding my “bust” but he didn’t say bust he used a different word. Not disrespectful on its own, probably said by many 6th grade boys. I’m sure it was similar to a knee-jerk reaction to see something with his eyes and then let me know what he saw. I felt offended. His comment was out of line, unnecessary, unwanted. I know what every inch of my body looks like. I didn’t need him to send me an obnoxious message spotlighting my body parts. “Some things are needless to say”—I Said. He apologized. “I’m just a boob-guy.” NEEDLESS TO SAY. STOP. SAYING. THINGS. He made a few more intended apologetic sentences but I could tell his brain was functioning in a different capacity. The messages ended there. I realized again, modesty is for the best.
facebook_1415745656241

Since your body is God’s temple, in what ways should you respect it?
I should respect by practicing modesty in how I dress and in my behaviors. I’m not wanting male attention towards my body parts but me as a whole. Me in my entirety. Men fall in love with their eyes, and their eyes are everywhere. Call me beautiful once, but do you KNOW if I’m beautiful? I’ve begun to divert attention away from outward beauty by saying “It’s just makeup” “It’s just Covergirl and Maybelline” “It’s just whitening strips” “It’s just shampoo and conditioner.” It gives suitors a quick LOL. You like what you see but would you like what you haven’t yet seen? My face with no makeup, my hair with no products, my body with no clothes? I don’t trust the average guy to answer me honestly. Everyone looks good in the dark at 2am. I have been respecting my body as God’s temple in that I no longer allow others to have access to it. There’s a cover charge and the Holy Spirit is the bouncer.image

image
my mascara face & the photo I edited because “too much” was showing (2012)

http://en.gravatar.com/that1liana

Related Reading:

http://www.girldefined.com/clothes-on

http://www.girldefined.com/4-ways-raunch-culture-lying

Standard

Leave a Reply

